Week 3: My first bump in the road

Alright, so yesterday I missed my run because the night before I had some serious allergies, I took Benadryl… and you know what happened. Couldn’t get up the next morning. So today, I did yesterdays run which was 30 minutes alternating 2 minute walk, 3 minute run.

Everything was fine until I was on my third cycle of 3 minute jog and my shins and calves started hurting. I kept going thinking that maybe it was soreness, but it wasn’t. I had shin splints or something. I tried stretching it out. Didn’t work. Go figure. From that point, I just walked the rest of the way home which took about 15 minutes longer than it should have.

Sigh. I didn’t let it get the best of me. I decided that maybe I was starting off with too much considering I have never done anything like this before. I also thought it would be a good opportunity to learn about what causes this to happen and to listen to my body.

Tomorrow is not a scheduled rest day but sometimes you just gotta let it give.

I turned to Google. Lo and behold, this is common among beginners. I found this on shin splints from Cool Running (love the name – that was a great movie):

“Cut back on your running. If you can stand it, you might consider taking a few days off altogether. The important thing is not to run through the pain. You’ll only make it worse.

With all that extra downtime, you’ll have plenty of opportunity to stretch your calves and strengthen your anterior leg muscles. Do wall pushups, and be particularly careful not to overstretch; ease into your stretches gradually. Do these several times a day, and especially before and after you run. To strengthen your front leg muscles, try the foot press and the furniture lift.”

Well, I supposed I will do the suggested stretches to strengthen my legs. Maybe I’ll give it another go on Thursday. Cheers to keepin’ my chin up!

Leave a Reply

